All Orthopaedic Clinic Locations

MARC - UT Health San Antonio Click for information

Audie L. Murphy Memorial Verterans Hospital (VA) Click for information

University Health Systems Trauma Clinic Click for information

Texas Diabetes Institute Click for information

Mays Cancer Center at UT Health  Click for information

Ruthe B. Cowl Rehabilitation Center, Laredo, TX  Click for information

Patient Care Information

image of legThe Department of Orthopaedics at the UT Health Science Center in San Antonio was established in 1966 as a Division of the Department of Surgery. The Department continues to grow and at present has more than 25 full time faculty, with expertise in almost every sub-specialty in Orthopaedics. It is routinely ranked by US News and World Report as one of the top 50 Orthopaedic Programs in the United States. The Department is active in providing care to patients in San Antonio and surrounding counties as well as the Rio Grande Valley of South Texas.

In addition to clinical activity, faculty are also active in training the orthopaedic surgeons and podiatrists of the future and generating new knowledge through scholarly research. At the present time, over 40 residents and fellows are in training programs administered by the Department, preparing them to treat patients with a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders. Faculty in the Department have been instrumental in developing new approaches for treating complex musculoskeletal problems and bringing revolutionary new designs for implants to the market place. Representative of these innovative devices is Dr. Charles A. Rockwood’s pioneering work on shoulder prostheses. You will find much more information about the Department on this website.