All Orthopaedic Clinic Locations

MARC - UT Health San Antonio Click for information

Audie L. Murphy Memorial Verterans Hospital (VA) Click for information

University Health Systems Trauma Clinic Click for information

Texas Diabetes Institute Click for information

Mays Cancer Center at UT Health  Click for information

Ruthe B. Cowl Rehabilitation Center, Laredo, TX  Click for information

Orthopaedic Endowed Chairs







The Fred G. Corley, M.D. Chair in Orthopaedics, 57700223, was established July 2004.  Anil K. Dutta, M.D. is the holder of this endowment.  This endowment was established to honor Dr. Corley who is one of our most respected long-term faculty, who has special expertise in surgery of the upper extremities, especially in management of trauma of the elbow, wrist, and hand.  He serves as a role model for Medical Students and Residents and has been the Chief of the Hand Services at this institution for over two decades.  The purpose of this endowment is to establish a permanent education resource for training Residents and Medical Students in surgery of the hand, shoulder and elbow.



John J. Hinchey, M.D. and Kathryn Hinchey Chair in Orthopaedics, 57700024, is held by Robert H. Quinn, M.D. This endowment was established in 1992 to honor Dr. Hinchey for his tremendous contributions to Orthopaedics and to the total medical community during his many years of Orthopaedic practice in San Antonio.  Dr. Hinchey died on March 3, 2000. Mrs. Kathryn Hinchey died December 2011. The purpose of the endowment is to establish an endowed position in the Department of Orthopaedics to support clinical and basic research.  


Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D., Chair in Orthopaedics 57700058, is held by Michael A. Wirth, M.D.  This endowment was established in 2003 to honor Dr. Rockwood who is recognized internationally for his contributions to Orthopaedic Surgery.  He has been a superb mentor for many Orthopaedic Surgeons, not only in our country, but throughout the world. This endowment was created to support research and education specializing in shoulder problems in the Department of Orthopaedics at UT Health San Antonio.


President’s Council/Dielmann Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery 57700241 is held by Grant D. Hogue, M.D. as of July 1, 2017.  This endowment was established in 2005 to honor Henry B. and Edna Smith Dielmann.  Mrs. Dielmann, a community philanthropist died in 2002 and left a generous portion of her estate to UTHSCSA. She was the widow of Henry B. Dielmann, prominent San Antonio attorney, three time member of the Texas House of Representatives and former Dean of the St. Mary’s University Law School in San Antonio. This endowment was created to provide Pediatric Orthopaedic training and programs to Medical Students and Residents at UT Health San Antonio as well as specialty training to countries with limited resources.       


Orthopaedics Supporting Honorary Lectureships:


The Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D. Endowed Lecture Series 57700233, was established November, 2004.  We appreciate Dr. Rockwood’s recognition of the Orthopaedic Residents as they graduate from our Residency Program.  This endowment was created to defray all or part of the expenses associated with the annual Orthopaedic Resident Graduation. This includes expenses to invite a distinguished guest lecturer and expenses associated with the Grand Rounds lecture, evening lecture and Graduation.   


The Philip A. Deffer, Sr., M.D. Lecture Series 57700070, was established in 1994. Dr. Deffer was a Retired Brigadier General, Associate Professor in the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at the Health Science Center and Director of the Orthopaedic Clinics at the University Health Center-Downtown from 1982-2003. Dr. Deffer died on October 26, 2006. The sole purpose for this endowment is to defray or offset expenses associated with inviting a distinguished guest speaker to the annual educational lecture to interact, share experiences and offer insights with our Residents and Medical Students.


The Laura B. Flawn, M.D. Endowed Professorship in Diseases of the Spine and Spine Trauma 57700189, was established in 2002. This endowment is held by John S. Toohey, M.D.  Dr. Flawn received high praise for her surgical skill and her contributions to the advancement of surgery of the spine before and after her death on October, 20, 2001. She was active in the Scoliosis Research Society and pioneered the development of practices and procedures to improve the treatment of scoliosis.  The purpose of this endowment is to defray all or part of the cost of bringing a visiting specialist in diseases of the spine and spine trauma to the annual lecture which will benefit Medical Students and Residents at UT Health San Antonio. It is funded by Dr. and Mrs. Peter Flawn, Dr. John P. Howe, III and Ms. Tyrrell Flawn. 




Louis T. Bogy, D.P.M. Professorship in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery 57700098, Michael Palladino, D.P.M. was appointed as holder of this endowment in 2009. This Professorship was established in 1998 to honor Louis T. Bogy, Chairman Emeritus of the Podiatry residency training program at UTHSCSA.  Dr. Bogy was instrumental in establishing the residency training program, which began in 1972 with one resident.  More than 100 Residents have graduated since then.  Dr. Bogy died on February 9, 2004. The first supported faculty member to be supported by this Professorship was Lawrence Harkless, D.P.M. from 1999 to 2007. This endowment was created to support research and resident education in the area of diabetic foot care.


Lee J. Sanders, M.D. Professorship in Lower Extremity Amputation Prevention 57700196, Thomas Zgonis, D.P.M. was appointed as holder of this endowment in 2008. The Professorship was established in 2003 to honor Lee J. Sanders, D.P.M, Chief of podiatry service, acute care and specialty services at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Lebanon, PA.  Dr. Sanders is considered one of the foremost leaders in prevention of lower-extremity amputation in diabetics. The purpose of the Professorship would be to support a faculty member in the Podiatry Division of the Orthopaedic Department and to support podiatric research and education in amputation prevention and other podiatric needs deemed appropriate by the Chair of Orthopaedics.


The Lawrence B. Harkless D.P.M. Endowed Program Fund in Podiatry 57700476, was created March 26, 2014 with a $10,000 gift from G. Javier Cavazos, Jr., D.P.M. received in November 2007 to support an endowment for the Orthopaedics Department, Podiatry Division in the School of Medicine.  Future plans will be to use this endowment for Podiatry Faculty research, travel and miscellaneous expenses to support the academic mission of the Program Fund in Podiatry.


Endowments are supported through the Office of Development.


Donate Now