Orthopaedic doctors publish paper on Lack of Diversity in Orthopaedic Trials

Earlier this week, Dr. Boriz Zelle, M.D. was notified that a collaborative project (Jeremy S. Somerson, MD, Mohit Bhandari, MD, PhD, FRCS, Clayton T. Vaughan, MD, Christopher S. Smith, MSc, and Boris A. Zelle, MD) published a paper on the Lack of Diversity in Orthopaedic Trials Conducted in the United States.

Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D.

      Dr. Zelle, M.D.

Dr. Jeremy Somerson, M.D.

Dr. Jeremy Somerson

Click here to view the entire publication

Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D. invited to be Associate Editor of Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma

Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D.The Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma has invited Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D.  to participate in the editorial review process for the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma as an Associate Editor. The Board of Associate Editors consists of individuals who review manuscripts within their areas of expertise and are appointed to a four-year term by the Editor.  Dr. Zelle has reviewed a number of papers for the Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma and has provided excellent critiques that have helped the Deputy Editors as well as the Editor in Chief to make final decisions for manuscript submissions.

Dr. Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D. Honored for Lifetime Achievement in Global Education

Dr. Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D. Honored for Lifetime Achievement in Global Education

Dr. Kaye Wilkins honored at AAOS 2014Throughout his life, Kaye E. Wilkins, MD, has sought to improve the lives of patients by teaching physicians in more than 20 countries around the globe. The AAOS International Committee recognized his efforts to educate orthopaedic surgeons around the world by presenting him with a Lifetime Achievement Award in Global Education during the International President’s Breakfast and World Opinion Forum on Wednesday.

From left: William B. Stetson, MD; Kaye E. Wilkins, MD; and Joshua J. Jacobs, MD

The 2008 AAOS Humanitarian Award Winner was recognized for his efforts to educate orthopaedic surgeons in more than 20 countries, including Mexico, Peru, Haiti, and Iraq. William B. Stetson, MD, chair of the International Committee, presented the award, noting that Dr. Wilkins always aims “to leave skills, and not just scars,” whenever he is visits another country or clinic.

Dr. Chris Larkins, M.D. demonstrates patient care achivement

 Dr. Chris Larkins, M.D.  The Orthopaedic Department at the UTHealth Science Center continues to demonstrate its commitment to quality patient care as evidenced by the achievements of Dr. Chris Larkins. Dr. Larkins is an orthopaedic surgery intern and who has already distinguished himself as a physician invested in the well-being of his patients.

Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D. listed as one of top CORR reviewers for 2013

Dr. Borris Zelle, M.D.


Dr. Boris Zelle, M.D. has been recognized by the CORR Board of Trustees as one of the top CORR reviewers for 2013. Reviewers on this list completed four or more reviews between September 2012 and August 2013, and had an average review score in the "excellent" range. This is a special group, which represents less than 3% of the reviewers in the pool. The combination of commitment and skill makes this a very important group, and their work is considered important both to orthopaedic research and to the CORR journal.

Click here to view the letter from the CORR Board of Trustees


Dr. Fred Corley honored at Mississippi State as Alumni Fellow

Dr. Fred Corley, M.D.Each fall, several of Mississippi State University’s notable alumni are invited to return to campus and deemed Alumni Fellows. Established more than 20 years ago, the fellows program allows the university to recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in their careers.

DeLallo, Christopher, MPAS, PA-C

Christopher DeLallo joined the Department of Orthopaedics in August of 2012. Born and raised in San Antonio, Texas, Mr. DeLallo graduated from Saint Francis University (2000) in Pennsylvania with a Bachelor's degree in Physician Assistant Sciences.  Mr. DeLallo  completed his education by earning his Master's Degree in Physician Assistant Sciences through the University of Nebraska.

Dr. Kaye Wilkins honored for 40 years of service to UT Health Science Center

Dr. Kaye Wilkins, D.V.M., M.D. was honored Tuesday for 40 years of service to the UT Health Science Center by President William Henrich and Orthpaedics Chairman Dr. Robert Quinn, M.D. at a cermony Tuesday, October 15th in the Parman Auditorium Foyer.

Dr. Wilkins received award for 40 years of service.


Subscribe to Orthopaedics RSS