All Orthopaedic Clinic Locations

MARC - UT Health San Antonio Click for information

Audie L. Murphy Memorial Verterans Hospital (VA) Click for information

University Health Systems Trauma Clinic Click for information

Texas Diabetes Institute Click for information

Mays Cancer Center at UT Health  Click for information

Ruthe B. Cowl Rehabilitation Center, Laredo, TX  Click for information

Orthopaedic Endowed Chairs







The Fred G. Corley, M.D. Chair in Orthopaedics was established in July 2004. Anil K. Dutta, M.D. is the holder of this endowment. The endowment was established to honor Dr. Corley who is one of our most respected long-term faculty with special expertise in surgery of the upper extremities, especially in management of trauma of the elbow, wrist, and hand.  He serves as a role model for medical students and residents and has been the Chief of the Hand Services at this institution for over two decades.  The purpose of this endowment is to establish a permanent education resource for training residents and medical students in surgery of the hand.

John J. Hinchey, M.D. and Kathryn Hinchey Chair in Orthopaedics was established in 1992 and is held by Robert H. Quinn, MD. The endowment was established to honor Dr. Hinchey for his tremendous contributions to Orthopaedics and the total medical community during his many years of orthopaedic practice in San Antonio.  Dr. Hinchey died on March 3, 2000; Mrs. Kathryn Hinchey died December 2011. The purpose of this endowment is to establish an endowed position in the Department of Orthopaedics and to fund expenses associated with clinical and basic research.  

Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D., Chair in Orthopaedics is held by Michael A. Wirth, M.D. The endowment was established in 2003 to honor Dr. Rockwood who is recognized internationally for his tremendous contributions to Orthopaedic surgery during the past 35+ years.  He has been a superb mentor for many Orthopaedic surgeons, locally, nationally and internationally. The purpose of the endowment is to fund expenses necessary for research, education and publications specializing in shoulder problems.  

President’s Council/Dielmann Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery held by Kaye E. Wilkins, M.D. The endowment was established in 2005 to honor Henry B. and Edna Smith Dielmann. Mrs. Dielmann, a community philanthropist died in 2002 and left a generous portion of her estate to UTHSCSA. She was the widow of Henry B. Dielmann, prominent San Antonio attorney, three time member of the Texas House of Representatives and former Dean of the St. Mary’s University Law School in San Antonio. The endowment was created to promote Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery training and programs, locally, nationally and internationally. 



Louis T. Bogy, D.P.M. Professorship in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery.  In 2009, Michael Palladino, D.P.M. was appointed as holder of this endowment. This Professorship was established in 1998 to honor Louis T. Bogy, Chairman Emeritus of the Podiatry residency training program at UTHSCSA.  Dr. Bogy was instrumental in establishing the residency training program, which began in 1972 with one resident.  More than 100 residents have graduated since then.  Dr. Bogy died on February 9, 2004. The first supported faculty member to be supported by this Professorship was Lawrence Harkless, DPM from 1999 to 2007. The purpose of this endowment is to support research and resident education in the area of diabetic foot care.

Lee J. Sanders, M.D. Professorship in Lower Extremity Amputation Prevention.  In 2008, Thomas Zgonis, D.P.M. was appointed as holder of this endowment.  The Professorship was established in 2003 to honor Lee J. Sanders, D.P.M, Chief of podiatry service, acute care and specialty services at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Lebanon, PA.  Dr. Sanders is considered one of the foremost leaders in prevention of lower-extremity amputation in diabetics. The purpose of the Professorship is to support a faculty member in the Podiatry Division of the Orthopaedic Department and to support podiatric research and education in amputation prevention and other podiatric needs deemed appropriate by the Chair of Orthopaedics. 

Orthopaedics Supporting Honorary Lectureships


The Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., M.D. Endowed Orthopaedic Lecture Series was established in November, 2004.  The sole purpose of this endowment is to support expenses associated with inviting a distinguished visiting professor for the Orthopaedic Resident Graduation Ceremony as well as expenses associated with the Graduation and annual lecture. 

The Philip A. Deffer, Sr., M.D. Lecture was established in November, 1994. Dr. Deffer was a Retired Brigadier General, Associate Professor in the Department of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at the Health Science Center and Director of the Orthopaedic clinics at the University Health Center-Downtown from 1982 to 2003.  Dr. Deffer died on October 26, 2006. The sole purpose for this endowment is to invite a distinguished guest speaker to the annual educational lecture.  The guest speaker will share their experience with treatment of Orthopaedic conditions and offer insights to our faculty, residents and medical students. 

The Laura B. Flawn, M.D. Endowed Professorship in Diseases of the Spine and Spine Trauma was established in June, 2002. This endowment is held by John S. Toohey, MD.  Dr. Flawn received high praise for her surgical skill and her contributions to the advancement of surgery of the spine before and after her death on October, 20, 2001.  She was active in the Scoliosis Research Society and pioneered the development of practices and procedures to improve the treatment of scoliosis.  The purpose of this endowment is to support the Professorship and defray all or part of the cost of bringing a visiting specialist in diseases of the spine and spine trauma to benefit medical students and residents at the UT Health Science Center. It is funded by Dr. and Mrs. Peter Flawn, Dr. John P. Howe, III and Ms. Tyrrell Flawn.