Supporting Endowments

Endowments are supported through the Office of Development.
Fred G. Corley, MD Distinguished Professorship in Orthopaedics is held by Anil K. Dutta, MD effective December 1, 2009 for a five-year term. This endowment was established in July, 2004 as the Fred G. Corley, MD Chair Fund in Orthopaedics. The endowment was established to honor Dr. Corley, one of our most respected long-term faculty.  Dr. Corley has special expertise in surgery of the upper extremities, especially in management of trauma of the elbow, wrist and hand.  He serves as a role model for medical students and residents and has been the Chief of Hand
Service at this institution for over two decades.  The purpose of this endowment is to establish a permanent education resource for training residents and medical students in surgery of the hand.
John J. Hinchey, MD and Kathryn Hinchey Chair in Orthopaedics, formerly known as the John J. Hinchey, MD Endowed Chair is held by Ronald P. Williams, PhD, MD and was established in 1992 to honor Dr. Hinchey for his tremendous contributions to Orthopaedics and to the total medical community during his many years of Orthopaedic practice in San Antonio.  Dr. Hinchey died on March 3, 2000. The purpose of the endowment is to establish an endowed position in the Department of Orthopaedics to fund clinical and basic research.  
Charles A. Rockwood, Jr., MD, Chair in Orthopaedics formerly known as the Charles A. Rockwood, Jr. MD Professorship in Orthopaedics is held by Michael A. Wirth, MD since it was established in November, 2003. The endowment was established to honor Dr. Rockwood who is recognized internationally for his contributions to Orthopaedic surgery during the past 35+ years. He has been a superb mentor for many Orthopaedic surgeons, not only in our country, but throughout the world.  Endowment also supports education and research in disorders of the shoulder.
President’s Council/Dielmann Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedics was held by Robert M. Campbell, Jr., MD from April 2005 through August 31, 2008; Kaye E. Wilkins, DVM, MD was appointed January 1, 2009.  The endowment was established to honor Henry B. and Edna Smith Dielmann.  Mrs. Dielmann, a community philanthropist died in 2002 and left a generous portion of her estate to UTHSCSA. She was the widow of Henry B. Dielmann, prominent San Antonio attorney, three-time member of the Texas House of Representatives and former Dean of the St. Mary’s University Law School in San Antonio. 
Philip A. Deffer, Sr., MD Lecture Series was created in March, 1993 to defray the cost (honorarium, travel expense) of inviting a distinguished guest lecturer for the annual lecture.  Dr. Deffer died October 26, 2006.
Laura B. Flawn, MD Endowed Professorship in Disease of the Spine and Spine Trauma is held by Dr. Earl Stanley effective August 31, 2010.  The Laura B. Flawn MD Endowed Professorship was established January 3, 2003 in memory of Dr. Flawn who died October 20, 2001. This endowment supports resident and medical student education as well as the annual Laura B. Flawn MD Lecture.
Rockwood Endowed Orthopaedic Lecture Series was established November 16, 2004 to support (honorarium, travel expense) a distinguished visiting professor for the Orthopaedic Resident Graduation Ceremony.
Kaye E. Wilkins Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Orthopaedics was established by The Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital and is held in trust by The Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital Foundation.
Hutchinson Endowment Fund is a Charitable Remainder Trust.  Dr. Hutchinson is receiving income from this trust established in 1996.  The trust will terminate when Dr. Hutchinson and his wife are deceased.  The corpus of the trust will establish the Dr. Robert and Dr. Louise Hutchinson Endowment Fund for Basic Research in Orthopaedic Surgery.
Louis T. Bogy, DPM Professorship in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery is held by Michael G. Palladino, DPM effective September 1, 2009. The first faculty member to be supported by this Professorship was Lawrence Harkless, DPM from 1999 to 2007.   The Professorship was established in 1998 to honor Louis T. Bogy, DPM, Chairman Emeritus of the Podiatry Residency Training Program at UTHSCSA as well as to support continuing research in treatment of the diabetic foot. Dr. Bogy was instrumental in establishing the residency training program, which began in 1972 with one resident. More than 100 residents have graduated since then. Dr. Bogy died on February 9, 2004.
Lee J. Sanders, MD Professorship in Lower Extremity Amputation Prevention is held by Thomas Zgonis, DPM effective June 12, 2008. The Professorship was established in 2003 to honor Lee J. Sanders, DPM, Chief of Podiatry Service, Acute Care and Specialty Services at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Lebanon, PA. Dr. Sanders is considered one of the foremost leaders in prevention of lower-extremity amputation in diabetics. Dr. Zgonis’ practice focuses on limb salvage and amputation prevention.