Dr. Robert Quinn

Welcome to the Department of Orthopaedics

Introduction from the Chair, Robert H. Quinn, MD, Professor and Chairman


It is an honor and a privilege to lead this storied Department which holds such a high level of distinction in the modern era of orthopaedic surgery. Founded by Charles Rockwood, Jr. MD in 1966 as a Division of General Surgery, Department status was attained in 1983. Under Dr. Rockwood’s leadership, the Department has fostered the development of many leaders in orthopaedic surgery, and a few legends including Dr. Rockwood himself, Dr. Kaye Wilkins, Dr. David Green, Dr. Jesse DeLee, and Dr. James Heckman, to name only a few. The textbook and teaching contributions of Drs. Rockwood, Wilkins, and Green have defined injury treatment from accident scene to recovery for over a generation.

Mark T. Scarborough, MD presents at annual Philip A. Deffer, Sr., MD Endowed Lecture


Robert H. Quinn, MD (left), Mark T. Scarborough, MD (right)

Robert H. Quinn, MD presents honorary plaque and Fiesta Medal to Mark T. Scarborough, MD after his talk, which took place April 17th at the Elian Resort and Conference Center.

2017 Deffer Lecture Program cover


 Fred G. Corley, MD Honored for 35 Years of Service

Dr. Rockwood receiving 50 year service award from Dr. Heinrich

Teri Hill, ACGME Honored for 25 Years of Service

Teri Hill awarded 25 year service plaque by UT President Heinrich.


Meet our newest faculty members

Philip M Jacobs, MD

Marc DeHart, MD

2016 Orthopaedic Journal Volume 1

Click here to read the first issue.

Upcoming Events

Resident Graduation June 16, 2017, time TBD Elian Hotel and Spa