Dr. Robert Quinn

Welcome to the Department of Orthopaedics

Introduction from the Chair, Robert H. Quinn, MD, Professor and Chairman


It is an honor and a privilege to lead this storied Department which holds such a high level of distinction in the modern era of orthopaedic surgery. Founded by Charles Rockwood, Jr. MD in 1966 as a Division of General Surgery, Department status was attained in 1983. Under Dr. Rockwood’s leadership, the Department has fostered the development of many leaders in orthopaedic surgery, and a few legends including Dr. Rockwood himself, Dr. Kaye Wilkins, Dr. David Green, Dr. Jesse DeLee, and Dr. James Heckman, to name only a few. The textbook and teaching contributions of Drs. Rockwood, Wilkins, and Green have defined injury treatment from accident scene to recovery for over a generation.


Jonathan Esquivel's Long Run

Two years ago, San Antonio Police Officer Jonathan Esquivel was seriously considering running a marathon. When he wasn’t on the streets protecting our community, or at home with his wife and two young sons, chances are you could find him at the gym or out for a run. He was 28, and in the best shape of his life. Unfortunately, his best was no match for a pickup truck traveling 50 miles per hour. Officer Esquivel was struck by a distracted driver while working a collision on Loop 410. Instead of a long run, the endurance marathon he started that day was a challenge to survive, to remember, and to move.

Jonathan Esquivel

Click here to read about Jonathan Esquivel's Long Run


Upcoming Events

November 14, 2015 Residents excused from clinical activities: 7:30 am to 3:00 pm OITE Orthopaedic Department
December 4,11 2015   Applicant Interviews Orthopaedic Department