Dr. Robert Quinn

Welcome to the Department of Orthopaedics

Introduction from the Chair, Robert H. Quinn, MD, Professor and Chairman


It is an honor and a privilege to lead this storied Department which holds such a high level of distinction in the modern era of orthopaedic surgery. Founded by Charles Rockwood, Jr. MD in 1966 as a Division of General Surgery, Department status was attained in 1983. Under Dr. Rockwood’s leadership, the Department has fostered the development of many leaders in orthopaedic surgery, and a few legends including Dr. Rockwood himself, Dr. Kaye Wilkins, Dr. David Green, Dr. Jesse DeLee, and Dr. James Heckman, to name only a few. The textbook and teaching contributions of Drs. Rockwood, Wilkins, and Green have defined injury treatment from accident scene to recovery for over a generation.

UT Health Hill Country clinic dedicated



UT Health Hill Country Sign

The physician practice of UT Health San Antonio took a huge step forward Feb. 22 with the dedication of UT Health Hill Country, just off Interstate 10 near Boerne.

The 19,000-square-foot building will offer a comprehensive array of services, including primary care, orthopaedics, radiology, physical therapy, urology, behavioral health and lab services.

UT Health Hill Country is at 25723 Old Fredericksburg Road in Boerne, (exit 550 – Ralph Fair Road). It will open for patient appointments on March 6.

Visit UT Health Hill Country or call 210-450-6800 to make an appointment.

Click here to read the full article online. 

 Charles A. Rockwood Jr., MD Honored for 50 Years of Service

Dr. Rockwood receiving 50 year service award from Dr. Heinrich

Dr. Rockwood Invitation to 50 year service award presentation.

Meet our newest faculty members

Philip M Jacobs, MD

Marc DeHart, MD

Upcoming Events

21st Annual Deffer Lectureship April 17, 2017, 5:30pm-8:30pm Elian Hotel and Spa Presentation by Mark T. Scarborough, MD University of Florida Dept. of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation
Roy Davis Resident Research Competition April 24, 2017 Abstracts accepted thru April 3rd Click here to view the Paper Guidelines.
Resident Graduation June 16, 2017, time TBD Elian Hotel and Spa